Best climbers for wet soil?
New variegated sage update

I won an award!

Graham Rice,award,PPA,Perennial Plant Association,International Contributor Award. Image © (all rights reserved) Yes, I’m delighted to report that I’ve won an award from the Perennial Plant Association (PPA). This is the society of mainly professional growers and plantspeople based in the USA and devoted specifically to perennial plants. And they’ve just honored me with their International Contributor Award for 2010. Thank you.

(How else do I illustrate my award, except with a picture of the plaque?! Click to enlarge.)

This award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to the herbaceous perennial industry through writing, breeding, growing, retailing, or designing with perennials.

Other winners in the past have included such notables as Piet Oudolf, Adrian Bloom and Beth Chatto.

Thank you, PPA. I’m honored.

Here’s a complete list of winners from previous years:
David Tristram - Plant breeder (UK)
Georg Uebelhart - Jelitto Seeds (Germany)
Poul Peterson - Overdam Nursery (Denmark)
Nico Rijnbeek - Rijnbeek & Sons Nursery (Netherlands)
Beth Chatto - Plantswoman, writer, nursery owner (UK)
Gert Fortgens - Arboretum Trompenburg (The Netherlands)
Ernst Pagels - Pagels Nursery, Leer (Germany)
Jac DeVroomen - DeVroomen Nurseries (The Netherlands)
Adrian Bloom - Plantsman, garden designer, writer, nurseryman (UK)
Piet Oudolf - Plantsman, garden designer, nursery owner (The Netherlands)
Luc Klinkhamer - CNB (The Netherlands)


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Karen - An Artists Garden


annie hayes

Congratulaions Graham ! You are in some pretty swell company!


Well deserved! So happy to see your devoted work acknowledged - I know first-hand how very much you do.

Graham Rice

Thanks everyone, I appreciate your support.

Amy  Stewart

Wow! Congrats!

mss @ Zanthan Gardens

Congrats on your reward. That's some accomplishment! How wonderful you must feel to be included in such an illustrious company. Being recognized by one's peers is one of the most satisfying things ever.

Chris Bonnett

Well done - Chris Bonnett -

Graham Rice

Thank you, again, everyone. Yes, it's both humbling and encouraging...


That's very illustrious company. Congratulations, Graham!

Richard Loader

Massive congratulations and it's good to see the appreciation given to a communicator.... plant breeders and nursery-men benefit hugely from the work you do. Well deserved.

susan harris

Totally deserved!

Graham Rice

Thanks again, everyone, for your kind words - I appreciate them.

Graham Spencer

Well done Graham, richly deserved. I was sitting in David Tristram's office on Friday, where his plaque hangs proudly on the wall.

Hilda M. Morrill

Congratulations Graham and much continued success to you!

The comments to this entry are closed.